map-redThe Boy Scouts of America is organized into four geographical regions which are served out of the National Office in Irving, TX.

The region chief is the youth leader of the region elected by the section chiefs from that region at the national planning meeting. He must be younger than 21 during the entire year of his term; he will serve until a successor is elected. The election is held following the election of the national chief and national vice chief.

The volunteer leader in the region is the region Order of the Arrow chairman. Appointed annually by the region director, this person is responsible for administering and monitoring the program regionally, with a special emphasis placed on the role of adviser to the region chief.

The region staff adviser is appointed by the region director and represents the region director in all Order of the Arrow operations within the region. Duties of the region staff adviser include regular communication and counsel with the region chairman and region chief, and serving as a nonvoting member of the national Order of the Arrow committee.

Each of the regions is divided into areas composed of a number of councils. The number of areas varies according to region. The region director decides on the area boundaries and appoints an area director to provide leadership to the programs within the geographical boundaries of the area.

Optionally, the area director may choose to appoint an Order of the Arrow coordinator for the area if more than one section is involved. The coordinator is a volunteer Scouter who is appointed annually in consultation with the region Order of the Arrow chairman and the area president. There is no youth leader at the area level.

Communications is a very important role for the region. Some regions use a newsletter to keep their sections up-to-date. Each region has a web-site with its own unique URL: