We Support Camping Award…Another Record Year

The Southern Region’s annual We Support Camping Award celebrated the completion of its sixth consecutive year of council camping support, again doing so in record fashion. Created in 2012 for the 2013 program year, the award’s purpose is to encourage lodges to sharpen their focus on camping support within their council. The award criteria is designed to be challenging, and to meet this challenge lodges must demonstrate leadership, service, and financial assistance to their local council’s outdoor program.

Representing all of the Southern Region’s 11 sections, a record 34 lodges received the award in 2018. Two of the lodges were first time recipients, while four other lodges were receiving it for the sixth time. Over the last six years, 51 unique Southern Region lodges have earned 136 We Support Camping Awards. These number overwhelmingly reflect the Order’s commitment to Scout camping. The section advisers received the 2018 award plaques in time for formal presentations at their respective section conclaves.

Here are the recipient lodges of the 2018 We Support Camping Award. Those lodges marked with an asterisk* are first time recipients. Those lodges that are in bold have received the award all six years.

Read more about the We Support Camping Award here.

Quelqueshoe Lodge* SR-1A
Ashwanchi Kinta Lodge SR-1B
Ti’ak Lodge SR-1B
Yustaga Lodge SR-1B
Mikanakawa Lodge SR-2
Netopalis Sipo Schipinachk Lodge* SR-2
Nischa Achowalogen Lodge SR-2
Wewanoma Lodge SR-3
Aal-Pa-Tah Lodge SR-4
Echockotee Lodge SR-4
O-Shot-Caw Lodge SR-4
Osceola Lodge SR-4
Tipisa Lodge SR-4
Catawba Lodge SR-5
Itibapishe Iti Hollo Lodge SR-5
Unali‘yi Lodge SR-5
Ahoalan-Nachpikin Lodge SR-6
Ittawamba Lodge SR-6
Kawida Lodge SR-6
Nguttitehen Lodge SR-6
Nawakwa Lodge SR-7A
Shenandoah Lodge SR-7A
Shenshawpotoo Lodge SR-7A
Wahunsenakah Lodge SR-7A
Klahican Lodge SR-7B
Occoneechee Lodge SR-7B
Tsoiotsi Tsogalii Lodge SR-7B
Ma-Nu Lodge SR-8
Ta Tsu Hwa Lodge SR-8
Wachtschu Mawachpo Lodge SR-8
Aracoma Lodge SR-9
Coosa Lodge SR-9
Ini-To Lodge SR-9
Waguli Lodge SR-9

A Day at Dixie

I had the pleasure of spending my weekend at SR-5’s conclave called the Dixie Fellowship. The 2019 Dixie took place the last weekend of April at the stunning Camp Bud Schiele in Rutherfordton, NC.

Dixie has been around for decades, always serving the arrowmen surrounding South Carolina, today SR-5 encompasses, Augusta GA, all of South Carolina, and the Southernmost lodges of North Carolina including Charlotte, NC.

What makes Dixie special is their remembrance of tradition while not being afraid to try new things. One of their longstanding traditions is how they do their training session. Each lodge selects a topic to lead sessions on, giving Arrowmen in attendance 10 different topics to choose from. Speaking with the Training Coordinator, Blake Parker, he said that lodges aren’t allowed to do a topic that has been down within the past two Dixies making each year’s Dixie training offering unique. Blake collects each sessions syllabus and adds them to a training repository.  Lodge’s sessions are judged by four members from other lodges and an all-around best training and best trained lodge are awarded.

Dixie has a very strong AIA program. Five of the ten lodges had a lodge drum team compete and were judged by a team of experts including representatives from local tribes. This same team of judges oversaw the dancing competitions with over 60 Arrowmen competing across the different categories. Caleb Barnes, the AIA coordinator, and the current NOAC Chicken Dance Champion, said that he loved that the AIA program continued to grow, and pointed out that with the help of local natives, they ensure that all regalia is acceptable, while also giving distinction to the best regalia at the conclave.

Other highlights from the weekend included the Very Important Arrowman luncheon with a speaker from the Far East Council about international scouting, lodge displays, and the minute to win it games.

Thank you to outgoing Section Chief Cole Taylor for inviting me up for the weekend, and best of luck to Hunter Hackett the new SR-5 Chief.

The South Wins Again

Annually the National Committee of the Order of the Arrow awards three awards annually, the National Service Award, The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award, and the Innovation Award. Six Southern Region lodges earned these awards in 2018.  Read on to learn more about these awards and which lodges earned them.


National Service Award

Established in 1999, the National Service Award recognizes two lodges in each region that have performed outstanding qualitative and quantitative service for their council. The following lodges are being recognized for their 2018 accomplishments.

Mikanakawa Lodge
Circle Ten Council #571
Dallas, Texas

This is Mikanakawa Lodge’s thirteenth time being selected for this award.

O-Shot-Caw Lodge

South Florida Council #84
Miami Lakes, Florida

This is O-Shot-Caw Lodge’s fourteenth time being selected for this award.


The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award

The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award was established in 1969 as a tribute and testimonial to the Order’s founder. Its purpose is to encourage and challenge Order of the Arrow members and lodges to improve their effectiveness in promoting and supporting Scout camping in their council. The award is presented to two lodges in each region annually. In its fifty year history, the Order’s oldest national lodge award has been presented to 225 different lodges. Our 2018 winners are:

Unali’Yi Lodge
Coastal Carolina Council #550
Charleston, South Carolina

This is Unali’Yi Lodge’s seventh time earning this award.

Wewanoma Lodge
Rio Grande Council #775
Harlingen, Texas

This is Wewanoma Lodge’s third time earning this award.


The Innovation Award

The Innovation Award was established in 2012 to recognize lodges who have developed creative and innovative solutions to challenges in implementing their program. Annually 2 lodges in the region are selected for the Innovation Award. Our 2018 winners are:

Netopalis Sipo Schipinachk Lodge
Longhorn Council #662
Fort Worth, Texas

This is Netopalis Sipo Schipinachk Lodge’s first time earning this award.

Santee Lodge
Pee Dee Area Council #552
Florence, South Carolina

This is Santee Lodge’s second time earning this award.

Youth Scholarships Available for the National Scouting Historian Summit

The National Scouting Historian Summit at Philmont, June 9-15, 2019, is actively seeking youth Scouts (14-21) to attend. There are currently 12 youth-only slots still available, so if you know of any youth that might benefit from the Summit, please encourage them to be a part of this special opportunity as soon as possible. Interested youth Scouts could be those who have earned the Scouting Heritage merit badge or who have held the position of Troop Historian. However, any Scout of any rank who has shown an interest in any aspect of Scouting history or collecting could become a future Scouting historian.

Continue reading