Focus Vice Chiefs

The Southern Region is proud to be home to 3 of the 6 Focus Vice Chiefs. Read on below to learn more about what Focus Vice Chiefs do.

2019 is a Focus year for the OA. We are taking the year to focus on the lodges, Section conclaves, and about our membership changes.

At the National Planning Meeting, the section chiefs were sorted into 6 focus teams,

  • Conclave 2.0 Administration
  • Conclave 2.0 Content
  • Election Rate
  • Activation
  • Inductions
  • 2019 Hackathon

Each team selects a leader, who is designated the Focus Vice Chief. The Focus Vice Chief plays a major role in what their group does. Our 3 chiefs serving as FVCs will play a major role in the direction their groups take and make a mark on the future of the OA.

2019 Region Chief Sid Salazar

We are excited to announce that Sid Salazar will be serving as our 2019 Southern Region Chief.

Sid hails from Franklin, Tennessee. Sid is a Vigil Honor member and Eagle Scout from Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge of the Middle Tennessee Council. He has served as the Sr-6 Section Chief, Section Vice Chief and the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge Chief, and Vice Chief. He is a sophomore at Georgia Tech studying Business Administration.


We are counting down the hours till NOAC 2018 starts! We want to see what our region is up to during NOAC, so use #SRatNOAC this week for a chance to be featured in upcoming Region and National posts and publications.


See y’all soon!

2017 National Awards Announced

Annually, the National OA Committee presents three national lodge recognitions to two lodges in each region.  They are the National Service, E. Urner Goodman Camping, and OA Innovation Awards. To learn more about each award please check out our awards page here.

The 2017 Southern Region recipients are:

The National Service Award

Mikanakawa Lodge
Circle Ten Council #571
Dallas, Texas

O-Shot- Caw Lodge
South Florida Council #84
Miami Lakes, Florida


E. Urner Goodman Camping Award

Unali’Yi Lodge
Coastal Carolina Council #550
Charleston, South Carolina

Wewanoma Lodge
Rio Grande Council #775
Harlingen, Texas

OA Innovation Award

Nawakwa Lodge
Heart of Virginia Council #602
Richmond, Virginia

Shenandoah Lodge
Stonewall Jackson Area Council #763
Waynesboro, Virginia