Annually the National Committee of the Order of the Arrow awards three awards annually, the National Service Award, The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award, and the Innovation Award. Six Southern Region lodges earned these awards in 2018.  Read on to learn more about these awards and which lodges earned them.


National Service Award

Established in 1999, the National Service Award recognizes two lodges in each region that have performed outstanding qualitative and quantitative service for their council. The following lodges are being recognized for their 2018 accomplishments.

Mikanakawa Lodge
Circle Ten Council #571
Dallas, Texas

This is Mikanakawa Lodge’s thirteenth time being selected for this award.

O-Shot-Caw Lodge

South Florida Council #84
Miami Lakes, Florida

This is O-Shot-Caw Lodge’s fourteenth time being selected for this award.


The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award

The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award was established in 1969 as a tribute and testimonial to the Order’s founder. Its purpose is to encourage and challenge Order of the Arrow members and lodges to improve their effectiveness in promoting and supporting Scout camping in their council. The award is presented to two lodges in each region annually. In its fifty year history, the Order’s oldest national lodge award has been presented to 225 different lodges. Our 2018 winners are:

Unali’Yi Lodge
Coastal Carolina Council #550
Charleston, South Carolina

This is Unali’Yi Lodge’s seventh time earning this award.

Wewanoma Lodge
Rio Grande Council #775
Harlingen, Texas

This is Wewanoma Lodge’s third time earning this award.


The Innovation Award

The Innovation Award was established in 2012 to recognize lodges who have developed creative and innovative solutions to challenges in implementing their program. Annually 2 lodges in the region are selected for the Innovation Award. Our 2018 winners are:

Netopalis Sipo Schipinachk Lodge
Longhorn Council #662
Fort Worth, Texas

This is Netopalis Sipo Schipinachk Lodge’s first time earning this award.

Santee Lodge
Pee Dee Area Council #552
Florence, South Carolina

This is Santee Lodge’s second time earning this award.